The OldVelos Vintage Classic Concours d’Elegance Awards 2019

This years Concours d’Elegance came to a very dramatic finale with the dramatic late arrival of the overall winner the magnificent Holdsworth Super Mistral restoration by Fintan Foley.

In the absence of the OldVelo Paul Musgrave, the regular and very fastidious adjudicator, we had to appoint two judges Eamon Hartley,  Tom Beck of Cloyne. It was a very hard assignment to mark this years entries as the standard has really reached new heights. None the less all were in agreement that the awards went to the right bikes.

And here they are:-


Category Bike Owner
“Best Bike Before Brexit” Holdsworth Professional 1969 Fintan Foley
Winner of the ‘Keeper of the Flame’ Perpetual Trophy made and sponsored by Donard Bikes Genesis Ronan Ryan
Best Peugeot Sponsored by T & C Motors, Peugeot Dealers Peugeot 531 Professional Gerard Murphy
Best Italian Guerciotti Low-Profile Bike Stan Christian
Best Irish Sponsored by Café Velo The ‘Elite’ range by Donard Bikes Owen Byrne
Best French

Best Dutch / Belgium

Vitus ‘France-Loire’ 1982


Russell Treacy

Stephen Wallis

Best Original Sponsored by Metalman Brewing Chesini Olympiad 1986 Ken Hall
Best Restoration Sponsored by Rebike TVT 1985 Ken Hall
People’s Choice sponsored by Flogas Ireland Mercian Tandem Alec & Nial Darragh
Best Trike Higgins Lightweight Malcolm Waters
Overall Winner of the Longford Vintage Tractor Spares Perpetual Trophy 2019 Holdsworth Professional 1969 Fintan Foley
“Who ate his porridge this morning” sponsored by Flahavans John Barrons
The ‘Spirit of Cycling’ prize sponsored by Battaglin Bikes The riders of the Rebike-OldVelos Tweed & Twine Cycle

Photograph: Rory O’Toole

Finest Barbecue after a Cycle Coach House Coffee
Young Cyclist Award sponsored by YoungVelos Damiano

Photograph: Rory O’Toole



“Who ate his porridge this morning” or “Best Climber” award sponsored by Flahavans

You may also like...